Testimonials

Kenneth Barclay, Honolulu Residence

My home is part of a duplex. My neighbor was unavailable to discuss a re-roofing of the complete structure I decided instead to re-roof only my garage. This would allow me to remove a defunct solar water collector array and prepare the roof for a PV system. Depending on my neighbor I plan to use Surface Shield to also re-roof the main portion of my house. After removing the old solar collector array, the old roof was stripped down to the plywood. New roofing felt was installed and then the new shingles applied. Since the shape of the garage made the job unique to my side of the duplex my neighbors home was not impacted. In addition to the new roof on the garage some repair of missing shingles to my home was also included in the contract. Both the repair and the new garage roof were completed quickly and professionally. I found the cost of the task to be competitive and the scheduling to my satisfaction. All of the individuals that I came in contact with while my home was repaired and garage re-roofing were pleasant and respectful and appeared dedicated to their portion of the job. They arrived on time and set about their task involved. The company appears to be managed very well with individuals carefully selected to interface with their customers at all stages of the operation from initial evaluation through final inspection. Communication with any of the management team is easy and respectful to the client. I highly recommend this organization to be considered when roofing work is needed for your facility.

Kenneth Barclay, Honolulu Residence
Cynthia Franklin, Honolulu Residence

I chose this company, although the price was higher than another company, because of high YELP reviews and then because I was impressed by professionalism, competence. and responsiveness of the rep who came to give me an estimate. I am happy with my decision. Work was done in a timely and professional and respectful manner. There was some delay in getting me a quote re: structural problem, the work was done with charge only for the building materials. I recommend this company. Cynthia Franklin, Honolulu Residence, Job Completed September 2015

Cynthia Franklin, Honolulu Residence
Honolulu Residence

I chose the company, although price was higher than another company, because of high yelp reviews and then because I was impressed by professionalism and companies responsiveness of the rep. Who came to give me an estimate. I am happy with my decision. Work was done a a timely and professional and respectful manner. Because there was some delay in getting me a quote re: a structural problem, the work was done with charge only for the building materials. I recommend this company.   Honolulu Residence, Job Completed September 2015

Honolulu Residence
Paisley Cipres, Kailua Residence

As a Property Manager, I deal with different vendors all the time, and at times it can be very frustrating. I received estimates for he roof repairs from four different companies but Surface Shield Roofing proved to be the best company to work with. They were very honest and dependable. They were also very good at keeping me updated with the projects. Thank you Roy and Ian. Paisley Cipres, Kailua Residence, Job Completed April 2014

Paisley Cipres, Kailua Residence
David and Teresa Horio, Honolulu Residence

Surface Shield did a very professional job with our roof, from initial recommendation to final installation. Although the job was delayed numerous time by rain, Surface Shield kept us updated and saw the jopb to completion. I would certainly use them again. David and Teresa Horio, Honolulu Residence Job Completed August 2011

David and Teresa Horio, Honolulu Residence
Todd C. Barnes, Aiea Residence

Surface Shield Roofing's professional service started with the estimating and proposal process. They gave me choices and then walked me through the options to make the proper material choices. They worked with me on the installation schedule to ensure it fit our requirements to the fullest. The installation crews were very professional and polite. Few construction projects go with out challenges but when these were encountered the foreman kept me thoroughly informed. The crew ere efficient, organized and safe. They were neat and made sure they cleaned up the entire area fully. We were thoroughly pleased and would recommend Surface Shield Roofing. Todd C. Barnes, Aiea Residence, Job Completed August 2011

Todd C. Barnes, Aiea Residence
Mr. Moore, Kailua Residence

From start to finish, Surface Shield has been very professional and reliable. Scheduling he work and timeliness of completion were right on plan. Great follow through by the work crew and management who were always courteous and responsible. Would proudly recommend. Mr. Moore, Kailua Residence Job Completed August 2011

Mr. Moore, Kailua Residence
Danielle McCauley, Kailua Residence

I was referred to Surface Shield 3 years ago by a reliable Home Inspector. Joe from Surface Shield came to our home in Kailua to access our roof and to give us an estimate. When he reviewed his findings it came our great surprise. To hear him say our roof have several more good years left! Most companies would see this as an easy money making opportunity and persuade us into a new roof without being totally truthful of its condition. Joe gave us helpful advise regarding things to look out for that might indicated its time for anew roof. Several years went by and my husband and I moved to Germany. We were renting our home when it came time for a new roof. I emailed Surface Shield and we were able to coordinate and schedule the replacement of our roof all from Germany! It was 100% hassle free. Joe and his team replaced the roof in 2 days with minimal disturbance to our tenants and the price was very fair. We did have other roofing companies attempt to gain our business along the way but no other company felt as honest as Surface Shield. So I highly recommend this company and appreciate your professionalism and excellent business. Danielle McCauley, Kailua Residence, Job Completed October 2013

Danielle McCauley, Kailua Residence
Margaret Markham, Waipahu Residence

After I saw your ad in the newspaper I contacted your company. I would highly recommend Surface Shield Roofing, all the employees I came in contact with were professional, on time, and very nice. The work performed met all my expectations from start to finish. I wish all of you continued success. You did a great job!   Margaret Markham, Waipahu Residence Job Completed January 2011

Margaret Markham, Waipahu Residence
Paul Switzer, Kaneohe Residence

I'm completely satisfied with the re-coating of my monier tile roof. The people were great to work with and they were accommodating and helpful at every stage of the work. Paul Switzer, Kaneohe Residence, Job Completed March 2011

Paul Switzer, Kaneohe Residence
Virgina Kimura, Mililani Residence

I am very pleased with the job Surface Shield Roofing Co. did for us. The employees were very nice and polite. They cleaned up my yard before they left. I am specially impressed with the honesty of the supervisor. Thank you very much. Virgina Kimura, Mililani Residence, Job Completed November 2013

Virgina Kimura, Mililani Residence
Joseph Frett, Kaneohe Residence

Thanks for a job well done. I am very pleased with the result of all the hard work that was done. Each member of the crew performed to the very highest standard. I would recommend your company to anyone I know. Your crew has brought credit to themselves and your company. Joseph Frett, Kaneohe Residence Job Completed May 2013

Joseph Frett, Kaneohe Residence
Walter Soh, Kailua Residence

My family and I appreciate the re-roofing done by Surface Shield. The initial contact and continuing communications prior to, during, and following the entire job was, I feel, extremely pleasant and informative during all phases of the job. We especially appreciated your (Zach Gregory, Operations Manager) continued evaluating the progress during the entire process. Also, your fantastic concern of all the aspects of the process, an especially the quick resolution to minor problems (ie. protruding nail points) which was rectified in a timely manner. We will not hesitate to recommend you for friends, and are proud to show off your quality work. We also appreciated you coordinating the removal and replacement of my solar. (Hot water and 40 PV panels) with the Solar Contractor.   -Walter Soh,Kailua Resident Job Completed July 2011

Walter Soh, Kailua ResidenceSoh Residence
Peter McClarau, Honolulu Residence

Thanks Surface Shield! You did a great job re-roofing my house. While taking off the old roof your team discovered extensive unexpected dry rot in the eves. Your workers skillfully repaired the damage quickly, keeping additional costs of man hours plus material to a minimum. Peter McClarau, Honolulu Resident Job Completed August 2012

Peter McClarau, Honolulu Residence
Benjamin Lum, Kailua Residence

We are very grateful for the great job your crew did on our roof. They were respectful, courteous, competent and solved problems with professional and beyond the call attitude. We would highly recommend them! Our estimator Roy did a top notch job as well. Benjamin Lum, Kailua Resident Job Completed October 2012

Benjamin Lum, Kailua Residence
Waipahu United Church of Christ

Waipahu United Church of Christ had a dire need to replace their 30 year old roof. We invited 6 companies to bid on our project, The majority said it was too steep and out of their scope. Out of this group only two responded with a bid. Surface Shield was a[proximately $21,000.00 less than the other contractor. We were so impressed with our reference checks Not only was Surface Shield unique in their scope of work, but in every aspect of center for the client and its members. In our case it was a Pre-School with lots of children in the area. The work here at Waipahu was completed on time and the prompt attention of our contact, Zach Gregory, Operations Manager & sales consultant was outstanding. Norma Nomura DeSaegher, Senior Minister Job Completed May 2011

Waipahu United Church of Christ
Vanessa Lum, Kapolei Residence

As the estimator promised, the roof was completed in a day. The workmanship and job crew worked professionally. The waste roofing materials were cleaned from the property. I would not hesitate to recommend the company for anyone thinking of doing business with Surface Shield.   Vanessa Lum, Kapolei Resident, Job Completed October 2012

Vanessa Lum, Kapolei Residence
Betsy K Komatsu, Honolulu Residence

Surface Shield Roofing Company provided excellent professional service when our house needed reroofing. Joe Nugent gave us a sound and very reasonable estimate prior to the job. He took the time to explain things we didn't understand and answered all questions we had. After we chose Surface Shield to be our roofer, the company was actually were able to start and finish the job a week earlier that the start date Joe originally gave us. Our roof is considered large, and I thought the job would take long but the six member crew made sure all estimated start and stop dates were well met. The crew was courteous and professional and answered any questions we had about their work. They followed through on everything they said they would do and when they said they would do it. I would recommend Surface Shield Roofing to anyone in need of professional, customer-oriented, and very reasonably priced roofing services. Joanie Komatsu for Betsy K. Komatsu, Honolulu Resident, Job Completed November 2012

Betsy K Komatsu, Honolulu Residence
Frances Smith, Mililani Residence

All the Surface Shield employees were courteous, professional, knowledgeable and kept us informed on every step with full explanations. Q and A's answered immediately. We feel the company is 100% recommendable.   Frances Smith, Mililani Residence, Job Completed August 2015

Frances Smith, Mililani Residence
G. Tani, Nuuanu Residence

We are pleased and satisfied with our completed roof project and would highly recommend your company to anyone. Your team members worked efficiently, were responsive to questions and concerns, and were mindful of keeping us informed during each step in the scope of work performed. We also appreciated our initial meeting with Glen smith, your estimator, who provided information on our roofing needs and the process so we could then make an informed decision. In our opinion, your company sets a benchmark in customer service which other companies could learn from. Thank you Ian, John, Frank and Mark for a job well done! G. Tani, Nuuanu Residence Job Completed, July 2015

G. Tani, Nuuanu Residence
Charles Heirakuji, Honolulu Residence

We looked for a company that would provide QUALITY WORK at an AFFORDABLE PRICE. Additionally, we looked for a Company that would BE AROUND to provide ongoing support for a LONG TIME. There are the basic criterias we pursued. Surface Shield met these three basic criterias. When we first met, they listened to our concerns and questions, as if they put themselves in the customer's shoes. When we received the quote, these issues were addressed by inclusion. On our second meeting, we continued to share concerns and questions and every time was clarified and address in an updated quote. I call the "Attention to Details." These so called " extras" were real issues and was handled by real people. Surface Shield, you have a great staff! Once the quote wad finalized, the work started and every worker was willing and able to answer questions and took the time to explain the steps. I believe this is called Workmanship Pride. It made me feel very confident that the work was done properly. The two neighbors acted like a Quality Control Inspection Department. Each day, the neighbors would give me a briefing on their observations. They were very impressed in their detailed reports. Thanks neighbors. Surface Shield worked well with a PV company and a Solar Hot Water Heater Company.  As a matter of fact, all three companies commented how well the communication went each completed the work in a timely manner. The final walk through inspection was done by Surface Shield to assure the job was done correctly so the Warranty can be issued. I am 100% confident they will stand behind the warranty. Waialae Nui! Charles Heirakuji, Honolulu Residence Job Completed February 2015

Charles Heirakuji, Honolulu Residence
Thomas Lichte, Kaneohe Residence

I am very pleased with the labor and materials supplied by Surface Shield. The site foreman, Toan Agon, ensured his crew performed with great care and diligence. Where work was critical Mt. Agon performed the work himself. Hew also stayed after his crew when they left to inspect all aspects of the work. I am also pleased with the what the sales staff discussed the product and how the preliminary inspections was performed in ored to estimate the job. Would I have Surface Shield perform work in the future? In a heart beat. I want them to return to ensure my roof remains beautiful and durable. Thomas Lichte, Kaneohe Residence, Job Completed July 2015

Thomas Lichte, Kaneohe Residence
Thomas Tereschuk, Kailua Residence

Thank you for the prompt and quality work you did when re-roofing our home. We were in an emergency situation with multiple heavy leaks due to heavy winds which blew off most of our shingles. Thankfully, Surface Shield quickly and expertly completed the job before the upcoming rain! And no mess! Thomas Tereschuk, Kailua Residence, Job Completed February 2015

Thomas Tereschuk, Kailua Residence
Yvonne Cummings, Kaneohe Residence

On behalf of my family and I, we would like to thank Surface Shield for all of the services they provided to give us a quality roof at a fair honest price. The roofing estimator, Ryan Lundquist, was very sincere, honest, accessible, responsive and prompt. The entire process went quicker than what we realistically hoped for. Everyone, who was involved in doing work on our roof were very professional, courteous and hard working. We dealt with three other well known companies and ultimately chose Surface Shield. Everything went perfect as expected. Yvonne Cummings, Kaneohe Residence Job Completed February 2015

Yvonne Cummings, Kaneohe Residence
Darryl Castillo, Ewa Beach Residence

From start to finish Surface Shield was professional in every phase of the job. Mike Thompson was an excellent representative of your company and worked with me to make the cost affordable and convenient. Mike explained every option and allowed me to choose the roof that I needed without the typical "sales" pressure. The roofing crew did a super job and insured the property was spotless with clean-up. Surface Shield is the best. I got roofing quotes initially in was not the lowest however Surface Shield met and beat the competition. The BIG plus was the personal, up beat attitude of all the employees. Ian's reassurance that Surface Shield would fix any problems make me convinced that I choose the right company. Darryl Castillo, Ewa Beach Residence, Job Completed May 2015  

Darryl Castillo, Ewa Beach Residence
Linda Jenks, Kailua Residence

My experience with Surface Shield has been excellent. Joe Nugent has guided the whole project through in a professional way. The crew was hardworking, respectful, kept thins clean, and did a great job. Jen, the onsite supervisor was excellent, hardworking, and professional. I highly recommend Surface Shield, and am very happy with the final product. Linda Jenks, Kailua Residence Job Completed December 2012

Linda Jenks, Kailua Residence
Mike Y and Janet A. Miura, Aiea Residence

We wish to inform you of our satisfaction with the GACO silicone roof coating placed on our home. The silicon coating still looks new and has performed well during the recent rainy season. The water runs off the roof rapidly due to its slickness. Thank you. Mike Y and Janet A. Miura, Aiea Residence Job Completed February 2012

Mike Y and Janet A. Miura, Aiea Residence
Michael and Lynette Yamashiro, Honolulu Residence

We have had great experiences with Surface Shield Roofing Company. We used them once before and chose to use them again to re-roof our home. We based our decision on the warranty on the workmanship, the excellent quality of their work, their integrity, and their accessibility any time of the day. They also provided the most reasonable estimates. Joe Nugent, the contact person for the this job; was most diligent and efficient. We first hired Surface Shield in 2011. Their estimate was very reasonable. The final outcome was great and we were impressed with their attention to every detail from start to finish. Most recently, we hired Surface Shield to do work on my mother’s house. We didn’t get estimate from other companies because we knew that Surface Shield would be the most reasonable, we would be happy with the outcome, and they would stand behind their work. Owner, Shon Gregory, guarantees every job will be done right. They have the same vision as their customers - quality workmanship at a reasonable price. We are extremely satisfied customers of Surface Shield. You can count on them to perform outstanding work at a reasonable price.   Michael and Lynette Yamashiro, Honolulu Project Job Completed March 2013

Michael and Lynette Yamashiro, Honolulu Residence
Thomas Brovarone, Kailua Residence

110% satisfied w/ my new roof! Surface Shield was an extremely professional company. I chose Surface Shield from 3 otter Oahu Roofing companies. The estimate was fair, not inflated with extras I did not ask for and was very competitive. I would highly recommend this roofing company to my friends who own homes on Oahu. Very well done! Thomas Brovarone, Kailua Resident, Job Completed March 2013

Thomas Brovarone, Kailua Residence
Fay Guinto, Mililani Residence

I would like to thank Surface Shield for the awesome job their team did in replacing my roof. Roy Shishido was very professional and personable upon his 1st visit to my home. His thorough explanation and straight-forward approach made me feel comfortable and confident. I chose the right company for the job. Ian and his crew did an awesome job from start to finish. Their professional work ethic was displayed when they ripped off the old and when they replaced with the new and awesome. Clean up on both days shows how much pride they have in representing Surface Shield. I will surely recommend your company to others. Thank you again Roy, Ian, and the rest of your crew. Fay Guinto, Miliani Resident, Job Completed April 2013

Fay Guinto, Mililani Residence
Thaila Choy, Honolulu Residence

I enjoyed working with your crew and staff who worked to reroof my home at 18 Kimo Drive. Roy Shisido and Ian Ashley were always making sure that I was informed as to what was going on. The crew worked well together even sitting in a circle at lunch and sharing their meals and having a great time. I found it interesting that even at the end of hot and tiring day, they were still able to joke and laugh with each other. So glad now that my chimney is taken care of and has stopped leaking. And of course my roof looks very nice. I also had the house painted so now everything looks brand new! Thank you for a job well done. Thalia Choy, Honolulu Resident, Job Completed 2013

Thaila Choy, Honolulu Residence
Leonard Capello, Kailua Residence

I am very pleased with the roofing system installed on my home by Surface Shield. The work done was performed as scheduled and the installers were very professional, including cleanup of the site. Leonard Capello, Kailua Residence, Job Completed March 2013  

Leonard Capello, Kailua Residence
Joseph Frett, Kailua Resident

Thanks for a job well done. I am very pleased with the result of all the hard work that was done. Each member of the crew performed to the very highest standard. I would recommend your company to anyone I know. Your crew have brought credit upon themselves and to your company.

Joseph Frett, Kailua Resident